• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Looking for some pointers. I'm suppose to be heading to Saganaga in 2 weeks, hopefully it will be open for access. I'd like some pointers and tips on catching the lake trout there. From what I've been reading it looks like water temp is key. The lake is pretty big so I'd like some general hints on what area of the lake to target, if anyone has fished on Sag before. This is my first time fishing for lakers and can't wait. Thanks all.

The Sag "J" permit (day use motor) opened today. I would advise getting a guide for a day.

Try Long island with a sutton spoon- #43 if I remember right- and straight across Long Island is a huge cliff on the canadian side that goes straight down to like 80 feet right next to the cliff- they like to hang there too. If no one hears from me for awhile after posting this info, contact my buddy Mark- I'm sure he did it LOL!

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators

Bring spoons, stickbaits, inline weights, and heavy jigs.

Can't give you a depth for 2 weeks from now but be prepared to get your spoons down. Use your sounder to locate benches that drop into deeper water. Lake trout will be on those somewhere and a jig tipped with a fathead would be my choice there. Bring an assortment of jigs from 1/4 - 3/4 oz.

In Sag I wouldn't hope to get into any suspended fish.

Get the spoons onto the bottom. If your finding you have to be deep let the inline weights drag through the sediment. An assortment of inline weights ranging from 1/2- 4 oz would be wise. Now I'm not saying the trout will be in 70 FOW but if they are you'll have your bases covered.

My lake map of Sag isn't to great, in fact its more of a hindrance. If someone can recommend a good map of Sag that be a great help.