• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Super braid on bait-caster input?

Weed Shark

I'm new to super braids. What are the advantages and disadvantages to putting maybe a 30 lb Power Pro onto to a Quantum Accurist 500cx bait caster, for pike in Canada. I hear the line cuts skin easier. Is this a disadvantage for kids thumbing the spool to a stop?

The line that is on the spool will not cut you. It is when you are doing something like tying a lure on or grabbing the line to haul a fish into the boat. Most people wrap the line around there hand so the line doesn't slip that is when it can dig into your skin, It looks and feels kind of like a paper cut, but it can be much worse. The thicker lines (30lb and up) won't do it as much but it can happen. Don't be afraid of it just be careful when handling it.

The advantages are much better hook set (especially important with large hooks), better feeling of the lure, more strength, less likely to get cut from teeth, etc. Disadvantages would be, much higher pricing, more visible than mono/flouro, not the greatest to use in freezing temperatures because it will get water logged and freeze, etc. I know I'm missing alot more and somebody will fill those in.

I do not have a concern with backlash. I find this more so with mono, then braid. I use power pro now on my cats rigs. I have found the best way to cut it is us a lighter or torch lighter. I like the little balls that it forms at end of line. When pulled on and knot tightens, melted ball pull up nice against knot. makes a stronger knot. It is like burning end or a rope. When you get used to cutting it with lighter, I burn extra up with lighter (be careful of not burning main line) on every knot. I use 65lbs PP. Good luck!