Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Dexter

Looking for recommended boat to fish the St. Croix.

8 posts in this topic

I am new to the stillwater area and would like to fish the St. Croix. I am looking for recommendations on the type of boat to purchase for river fishing (tiller, console, fiberglass, aluminum, length, width, hp, ...). I would like to keep the price down without giving up fishability. I don't need the latest and greatest; just safety, durability and fishability.

Well, whatever will float will work on the river. A reliable motor is key too. Ya see a bit of everything out there so it comes down to personal preference and budget. For me summer weekend days are out of the question no matter how big of a boat I have. It gets mad crazy out there.

i have a 17' deep v with a side console with a 90 horse. bow mount 55lb thrust trolling motor

not too big, not too small.

I agree with Stratosman. fish early on the weekends before the cruiser hatch. this typically occurs 11AM sharp every Saturday and Sunday during the Summer.

The hatch has occurred early this year due to warm temps.

Yep, I avoid the river pretty much all weekend, with the exception of maybe Sunday evenings. I like to get out early on Mondays since I don't work that day. I have a Tracker Pro-Guide 16ft with a 50hp motor and a 40lb thrust trolling motor and it works for me. The big pleasure cruisers are what you need to watch out for....even if they have the whole river it seems like they feel it's necessary to come within 10-15 ft of a guy out there fishing and minding his own business! confused.gif Good luck on your decision.

Hey Dexter,

Welcome!! smile.gif