• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Just looking for any insight to how eveyone did on the opener, just got back into town. Whats the water temp at, could not believe how hot is was when we got back.

I went out on Waconia saturday afternoon and caught the skunk. I am new to Waconia... I mainly fish tonka, but I am trying to learn the lake. I haven't had much luck there. I was trying for pike tossing spinners, cranks, and big jig and plastics. I tried shallow weeds, deep weeds, and weed edges... nothing. I don't know what I did wrong, but I got spanked.

On the water at 5 a.m., air temp was 50 and water temp was 63.8. One 20" walleye on a jig and minnow. Could not keep the bass off!

Cupper,

I know some may argue with me, but Waconia isn't the best lake to fish for numbers of Pike. Every so often you can hook into a dandy there.

This time of year, I throw for them on the north side before the cabbage gets too high off bottom, outside the north reeds and the shallower areas of Reinke's reef.

Also, try outside the docks of Wagner's bay starting from the gravel access up to Harm's point.

I will not argue.

Most times we can't get an accidental pike on Waconia, but every year you see the dandy pike images at In-Towne from winter fishing. Maybe it is a quality versus quantity fishery, which isn't so bad I guess.

Im sure if you cast your lures for at least 4 to 6 hours out on the lake you should at least catch 3 pikes wouldnt you?

We opened on Waconia and did real well on the walleyes! we caught 14 for the end of the day total only two fish were under the slot the biggest was a 28 incher. It was a good opener for the Sealegs!!

Any new reports?

I will be out there tonight looking for the elusive Walter.

we were out last night and picked up 1 eye in about 11' just out of the wind. A few bites but no takers. Fished with fatheads and lindys