• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Introduction and request for info

Hi all,

I just got transplanted to MN from out west and thought I would introduce myself. I moved here 3 weeks ago from Utah. And I am already looking forward to the Fall hunting season. I have 2 springer spaniels so I mostly hunt birds. They've hunted pheasant, dove, sharptail, ruffed, and blue grouse, desert quail, huns, chukar, and geese. I've been hunting for the last 30 years and enjoy travelling to new places to hunt and explore.

I've been looking at the MN DNR website and it looks like there is a huge amount of National Forest up north and WMAs just about in every part of the state. Towards summer once the chicks are grown I'd like to start scouting for grouse and pheasant too.

I was hoping someone could provide me with some areas that are likely to hold grouse. I'm used to hunting ruffies up in the mountains so I'm not sure what to look for out here or where to start. Are there any public areas that hold pheasant or is that strictly a private landowner deal?

I assume people here protect their honey holes like I did out west with the same rules. I'm just looking for information like "look in this forest in this quadrant (north, south, NW, SE), with this kind of cover or food. Stuff like that.

Also I've never hunted deer and would like to try that as it seems Minnesota has a good population and access to public land. I'd like to do the rifle hunt and don't care if it's got antlers or not for my first time. Any suggestions of any sort would be greatly appreciated. My wife and I are looking at houses up around Rockford if that helps at all but I don't mind driving.

I know it's a lot of questions, sorry this is so long. Thanks for any help and I look forward to contributing to this board!

Thanks,

Mike