Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
fishinfey8

Student in Metro Area

10 posts in this topic

Hey everyone, i am a student at century college in WBL and am from Duluth, and i was just wondering where is a place to fish from shore...i love fishing and it sucks because i don't know any where to go!

I would fish the st. croix river. You'll mostly probably catch sheephead and redhorse, but you can still hook into smallmouths, catfish, white bass, walleyes, carp, etc. Much funner than catching potato chip sunfish from the local lakes. There's a number of boat launches with good shorefishing north of stillwater.

St. Croix would be good place for shore fishing, although I must admit I haven't tried it yet.

Another good place is where Minnehaha creek joins in with the Mississippi. Gets a little thick with people at times though.

I am student too and was limited to shore fishing. I got a float tube so I can get away from the potato chip sunnies off the dock. You can pick one up for $75-150.

Another thing, is to get a pair of waders and a light weight fly rod. They can make the potato chips alot more fun and the waders allow you much more mobility.

There are LOTS of places...depending on your pref. on fish. What did you have in mind to be on the other end?

I'll second the river ideas. I fish the Minnehaha creek area. Theres a few regualrs but you can usually find a little bit of shore line to call your own.

Basically the entire shore line of the river is fishable just a matter of how productive the area will be. I am sure there are hot spots from shore no one has found yet.