• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Tonka crappie report 4/16

Main lake temps 45 to 47. Small bays/cove 50 to 52. Hit a couple of bays and you'll get on the crappies eventually. My next two areas held nothing but sunnies and bass the next was loaded with crappies so be prepared to move if you don't find crappies quickly. 1ft down in 4 to 6ft depths. Got most of my fish around docks. preferred baits last night were Culprit paddletails and Exude Micro shads (I seldom use live minnows FYI). Biggest crappie was 11" average was around 8" and I caught a lot of them. Bass and sunnies were also hitting. Bonus fish of night was a 22" largemouth which gave my drag and good workout. Fun night and the bite will be getting better.

Were you basically putting the plastics on small jigs under a bobber? Letting it sit? Or really in? Slow.. fast? I am a newbie for panfish!

1/32 oz collarless jighead. Retrieve varied from a slow continous retrieve, a popping approach and just letting it sit. I start out with the slow retrieve and slow it down until I start catching fish. If the crappies are hitting the slow retrieve I will often take the bobber off. Once water temps hit high 50s I will speed up a little more. Just vary things and let the fish tell you what they want. I typically have three rods rigged with different plastics - Power minnows, Culprit paddletails, Exude Micro shads - and work my way down in size until I start getting fish. Again once the water warms up I will add small spinnerbaits and crankbaits to the arsenal. Hope this helps.