• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

sturgeon

Pigashalaka

Hello, I am new to this particular forum, but have posted plenty around home/international falls area. I am looking for information of sturgeon on the St. Croix River. I am a very avid sturgeon angler, but my angling has been limited to the Rainy River and border waters. If I am correct, the season is closed to sturgeon on the St. Croix in Minnesota? Can you fish for them on the Wisconsin Side? From what I can gather, there is only a short season in the fall. Has anyone targeted sturgeon on the river? Success rates? Any information on sturgeon in your area would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much!

Pig

I'm not 100% sure but I believe you can keep a sturgeon on the minnesota side, but only upstream of taylors falls. And the season is like 2 or 3 weeks long in september. The DNR closed fishing to sturgeon on the tributaries of the upper croix about 10 or 12 years ago. But unless they changed the regs this year I'm pretty sure you can keep 1 on the croix itself. And I think it's a 50 inch minimum size limit. I'm not 100% sure on all of that so if anyone knows the regs, please correct me.

I'm pretty sure that it is Taylors falls and south to Prescott. One fish 50" min with a tag required and season runs from Sept. first to Oct. 15th.

Sturgeon season is only open from sept. 1-oct. 15 on the st croix with a tag. But every year me and a couple of buddies go out there and we do catch some, though the size is not so big but there is plenty that averages between 24-48in. biting on crawlers.