• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Curious... Becoming a Guide?

Dances with Walleye

So last night I'm having dinner with my soon to be mother in law, and conversation turns to the future and how we'll afford expenses and the like...

We talked about little side things we could do for money, I mentioned cutting and delivering firewood in the wintertime etc...

M-i-L turns to me and says "Why don't you just spend a couple days a month working as a fishing guide?"

I didn't have an answer... Why don't I spend a couple days a month as a fishing guide?

I can get on fish consistently, I'm a good teacher, and have great personal skills...

I'm guessing though that there's a whole heck of a lot more to it than that... And in the end it's probably not an idea that will come out in the wash...

But I figure why not at least ask and learn something new?

Here's what you'll need to start. A good boat, motor and trailer. A minimum of $300,000 liability insurance, a good tax guy, possibly USCG certification (depending on where your guiding) and some sort of advertising budget. Enough good equipment to outfit at least 3 other fisherman. Other than that not much.

Gotta love those M.I.L's....a number of years ago, my mother in law was giving me a hard time saying I should have a job in the summer, I shouldn't be fishing all the time, i need a summer Job. This went on for a good half of an hour. I finally looked at my father in law, who teaches as well, and said, "Gary, you don't have a summer job, why don't you have a summer job, I think you should have a summer job!" Needless to say the conversation stopped then and there, I think my M.I.L learned an important lesson that day, I am not her son.