• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

what age introduce to guns?

Bobb-o

got my first pup two weeks ago and so far she has been awesome. want to be able to use her for birds in the future. She is half black lab and half golden retriever. So far she knows come, sit, will go potty on command, and will fetch and bring bacdk to hand most of the time. I have introduced her to grouse wings and to the guns in general and she gets really excited whenever i pull them out, but how long should i wait before introducing her to the sound of the gunshot? Should i start off with a starter pistol while she is playing? how much longer should i wait before i introduce her to gunfire? she is 8 weeks old

I am no expert by any means, but 8 weeks old is very young. Let her be a puppy and make every thing fun. I would wait untill she is at least 4 months old before you start introducing the gun. Even then start slow. In the mean time socialization is very important take her everywhere. Let her smell new things and here new sounds. This will pay off in the long run.