Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Katman

fly tying kit

8 posts in this topic

Well...you guys know how the itch goes. I started fly fishing a little over a year ago. I'm no pro...but i do want to tie my own flies now. I almost bought a tie kit from gander mountain yesterday for about 49.99. It came with a ton of fly materials, a few tools, vise, a little book and some head cement. I was wondering if anyone of you guys started with this or a similar kit? Or maybe you guys can point me out to a better quality or bang for the buck kit to start out with. I think this was a guide series kit. My main goal was to tie some nymphs, boogers...basically some trout flies and maybe some clousers or other warm water flies. Thanks! grin.gif

Linh

I would avoid the kit. The inexpensive ones have poor quality tools and materials that are of poor quality and in many cases just plain weird. A decent vise (Griffin makes good entry-level vises, for example) will last a lifetime, as will most of the tools, although it's possible to wear out even good scissors and bobbins. This is yet another case where a visit to your local fly shop can pay off. They can help you get good tools and specific materials that will set you on your way and most of them offer tying classes as well.

If you're in the metro area, take the basic fly tying class at Bob Mitchel's Fly Shop in Lake Elmo. Then just buy the materials as you need them. You'll end up with better materials, and just the materials you need for the flies you need to tie.

I started tying flies with an entry level kit that I got as a gift. The vise lasted 12 years, but most of the materials were very low quality or just materials that most flytyers never would use. Stay away from the kits.