• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

DSL. or cable internet?

SCUMFROG

Question

24 answers to this question

Scumfrog -

Reallyc an't compare because have never used cable but can say that with DSL you will be well-served depending upon the speed you choose - get at least 512 if not higher. I have no complaints - I receive info faster than my 3 yr old computer at home can process it.

Daze Off

I didn't know there is different speeds? I've had dial up for ever and I'm new to this high speed stuff. I had to get a new computer and it's got all this nice stuff in it but the internet is sooooooooo slow..

ScumFrog,

It doesnt matter to the normal user unless you are counting bits and bytes you will not tell the difference. Espically when you are coming from the dial up world.

I would get what ever is cheaper in your area.

Enjoy,

PERCHKING (IT DIRECTOR)

I've had both. I like cable better, it is faster. I do hate Comcrap though. Still have cable just cause it's a pain to change, but DSL is good.

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators

All I know is that I'm really enjoying our wireless DSL network. We've had up to 4 computers accessing the internet through it at once with minimal slowdown.

If you are not downloading LARGE files, say 1.2GB audio files, either one will work just fine for surfing the web, the occasional Youtube video clip, etc. Even with multiple computers.

I've found cable to be faster if you're downloading large audio/video files though. I'm talking the type that even with faster cable, takes a couple hours.

Quote:

I would like to know what you think of DSL, is it better then cable?

It can depend what you are going to use it for. Here is some food for thought.