• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Outboard Troubles

Mr Special

Question

I have an older "cough cough" 1993 Force50hp. Please try to stop laughing so hard grin.gif

It idles prefect, doesn't have trouble starting. Seems to cut off when shifting into gear slowly. But once it's in gear it'll run like a champ. It's not to bad shifting into foward, but I have to kinda slam it into gear. Which I figure can't be good. Shifting into reverse is the worst. Most of the time I can't get into reverse at all. I've tried messing around with the idle jets in stuff, but I'm not very good with carbs. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Or if you know of a good reliable shop, that won't charge in arm and leg be great.

Thanks

16 answers to this question

Mr. S I lately heard of force 2 ? 3 ? times. Who makes it?? I have a troubble shooter OB booklet,I'll try to look it up. the shifting problem.I have an old Crystler OB I think they made a motor or a style called Force.Is that right??

I believe the older Forces were made by Chrysler. Then they got bought out by Merc. Mine is actually made by Merc. It's supposed to be better the the Chrysler built ones. It's actually been a very good motor, up till last fall. The only other problem i had with it was a cracked lower unit. But that was due to user error, more then anything.LOL

Thanks

I think you should just buy a River Pro--I'll be your anchor man for "Big Bertha" even grin.gif