• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Best trap for the money

scotta

Im brand new to trapping. Ive been slowly buying traps. I havnt been able to find used traps at a decent price so I have been buying new ones. Ive noticed a big differnce in price between the duke and the bridger. A veteran trapper told me to go with the bridger because they are a better trap. Is there any truth to this. Both brands are made overseas. I have 1/2 dozen duke1.5,and 10 bridger 1.65. I plan on using these for coon or fox. Im now going to be looking at #3s for beaver and coyote.What do you guys use and recomend for trap brands. thanks

Scott, if you are talking about trapping fox and coyotes, my money would be on the 1 3/4 victor traps. It's my opinion, this is the best trap made, and is worth the extra money.

I use the Duke 1 1/2 for coon and fox and I havnt had any problems with them, they are a middle line price and seem to be pretty good quality. I take pretty good care of my traps too so i am not sure how they would handle if you abuse them a lot. I also have about a dozen victors that have lasted me about 8 years and are still as good as when i bought them.

I use 75% dukes in the early season. THey work for me. HOWEVER, you do have to add some extra swivels to the chain. If you want a trap you can take out of the box and do very little to I would go with sleepy creeks. I use SC 1.75 once our snow gets deep. They are really strong and come up nicely.

there is my 2 cents.

• 2 weeks later...

Go with the Bridger's for yotes and beav's. Yotes can rip up a trap and stock Bridger will withstand the abuse. Plus, you can always add mods in the future. If you're in the north with big snows, go with the #3. If you're more to the south, go with a #2.

I know a guy that holds wolves with a stock Bridger #3!!!