• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

shock collars for training puppies, [springer spaniel]

anyone have any suggestions on what collar works the best? I don't want to go to crazy on the price, maybe around the $200 dollar range.

I'm far from a expert on dog training but have used and continue to use a tri-tronics sport 60. It's a very durable collar for me. I've used it for 6 years and it has never let me down. It has a audible tone button to go along with the shock button. All dogs are different but I've never had to use the shock feature as the audible works with my dog.

I look at the collar as a tool in training but not the whole answer. Dogs become very collar aware in a short time. Nothing works better in training than being consistent and working your dog every day you can. Training never ends. Mine is 6 years old and I try to get her out and work her at least a minimum of 4 days a week.

I've seen too many friends use a collar as their only training tool. Their dogs spend far too much time in a kennel and not near enough time with one-one ongoing training. Then they wonder why their dog "forgets" the training in the fall.

I'm sure you will get posts from people much more knowledgeable than I. Just my 2 cents worth.

I would suggest not using a eCollar on a puppy. Teach it what you want first. Make sure it knows it's commands inside and out and then transition to the eCollar. How old is your puppy and what are you trying to teach it? What kind of training would you be using the eCollar for? DT, Dogtra and Tritronics seem to get the best reviews. There is another brand that is well regarded too but I don't know what it is, I know it isn't Innotek though.