• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Deadline for WI 2007 Spring Turkey Hunt Approaching!!! - Dec. 11th

HateHumminbird

Folks:

Make sure you all get out there and get your apps. in. I know ice fishing looms, and hunting is just wrapping up, but make sure to get it done!

Joel

• 2 weeks later...

Joel,

I'm applying for a non-resident turkey tag for the first time this year. Is it easier for a non-resident to get a tag if you put in for a later season? My brother lives in Hudson, so I'm going to put in for that area and then he has a friend by Baldwin that said I could hunt his place too. So I have 2 different zones to apply for. Just wondering if you have any advice as far as what season to apply for?

Thanks,

Brian

Brian:

I'm no expert on the WI non-res thing.....so I made a few calls to people that are. smile.gif

I would recommend you contact Upland Ecologist Andrea Mezerra:

(608) 261-8458

[email protected]

She was very knowledgeable regarding seasons/applications and their system. When she didn't know an answer to a question, she referred me to the proper sources as well.

To answer your initial questions, it's much easier to pull for a later season as a non-res than an earlier one. Preference in WI is different than in MN, with no "set" number of tags per season. Instead, priority is given, in this order:

1. Resident Landowners

2. Residents who did not receive a tag the previous year

3. Residents - All others

4. Non-resident landowners

5. Non-resident - All others

That said, most pick a traditionally favorable season (the early ones). I would look towards seasons E & F as "E" is typically the earliest a non-res will get a tag for, except for those zones with the highest numbers of permits available. Keep in mind, these zones can be ones with intense hunting pressure, and fewer workable birds come late May.