• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Snake River Info?

I'm in the process of buying a 3 season place near Grasston and was wondering what info I could get on fishing the Snake River. I'm fairly new to river fishing, and am most interested in the areas from Little Walleye Landing off CR114 downstream to Pokegama, and upstream to Grasston. I'm not asking for hotspots, just a general overview of the area...ie boatable? species present, decent fishing? Any info would be helpful as would links to other info. I have a 14' fishing boat with an old 9.5 Johnson, as well as a canoe, plus access to a 17' Fisher with 70HP Johnson (I know I'd have to launch that at Pokegama), and would love to buy a pontoon. Any info would be appreciated....SnakeRiverKing? T-water?

Greetings Rockingroy-

From Grasston to Little Walleye there are numerous shallow spots. In high summer, doesn't matter what kind of boat you have, you'll have to get out in spots.

From Little Walleye...There is a shallow spot over a sandbar about 1/4 mile down from Little Walleye, other than that it deepens up all the way down to Pokegama.

There is a guy with a pontoon about a mile up from Little Walleye, that is the furthest up I've seen a pontoon parked. Going down river, once you get past that shallow spot I mentioned, you'd be good to go all the way to Pokegama.

If you're new place is closer to Grasston than Little Walleye then, sorry to say, I think you'll be out of luck with a pontoon.

Fishing? Sometimes great, sometimes worthless, same as anywhere. I've been skunked more times than I can count, but I've also had a few 20+ fish days on that stretch of river.

In general you'll want to fish the holes. Fishing gets better as the river gets shallower and the fish concentrate in the holes.

Species: (In order of catch frequency)

Northern (you'll catch these 5:1 to everything else)