• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

tips on ratteling

slopmaster

I have been reading some post from people on how they have had some succes ratteling and i was just wondering if anyone was willing to share some tips on how they prefer to do it. I have a rattle bag and i tried it a little tonight but didnt have anything come in. I was just wondering How long you usually rattle for and do you start off quiter and then really hammer them togeter. Also if im sitting in a area for 2 to 2 1/2 hours a night how many different times would you try ratteling or would you try it once and then just sit quitley the rest of the night?? thanks for any tips!

im not an expert on rattling but i have had some luck. first off almost always they come in downwind. when they come in if it isn't the most dominate buck they hang back in the brush and look for the other buck for quiet some time. if you have a decoy or a 3D target they help alot just place it up wind. be sure to be consealed and having some sents out, whether it buck or doe, is a good idea.

when im out in the stand heres what i do.

1. put out scent and decoy upwind about 20 yds

2. grunt a few times softly

3. after 5 min or so when i know there are not any deer around i grunt loud and a bit longer say 5 or 9 times

4. rattle litely for 20-30 seconds grunt a few times after

5. wait 10-15 min if nothing comes

6. rattle again loud and for 45-60 seconds grunt a few times after

7. if nothing responds ill wait 45-60 min before starting again at step 2

scent elimination is a biggy with this because 99% of the time they will come from down wind, so no farting.

i will get ready as soon as i put my rattle bag away, because if there big they come charging in. the little guys usually hang back and try to see how big the deer that were fighting are, unless they havent had their but kicked yet.