Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
walleyes12

FM Fall Fishing

6 posts in this topic

Well Fall is now upon us and I figure the walleye action in our area must be fired up! I was hoping for alittle help from some of the veterans of the Red River. I have been a college student for 4 years up in Moorhead and Hoping to soon graduate and call Moorhead my home town. I have been trying to locate fall walleyes ever since I have been up here. I have had some luck here and there. I do all my fishing from shore since I am just a poor college student. I was just curious if anyone can give some advice on where to go?, what to look for?, what baits? any information would be great. The red river cab get overwhelming trying to find key spots from shore. Thanks guys I will post my email address if anyone would like to email me any information.

lmcnally12@yahoo.com

Thanks

I myself haven't done much fall walleye fishing on the Red but looks like that will be changing as well.

Right now I believe that holes would be places to look for fish as it seems to be a good staging point for them right now. I noticed a few holes last night that were "loaded" when I was out for cats.

Baits right now would be - creek chubs or frogs.

I will be exploring the Red starting this week for eyes. I usually have an open seat in the boat if you want to get out.

Drop me a line and maybe we can work something out motorhead327@hotmail.com

First suggestion- do a search of this forum looking for "fall fishing", "fall walleyes", or "walleyes". There's been tons of info posted on this in the past. Read Backwater Eddy's posts closely- tons of good info there.

Four main rigs I'd suggest for now- jig/minnow, jig/frog/ slip rig, crankbaits. Your search of this forum should provide you with more info about these combos if you want more.