Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
SCUMFROG

Climbers.

25 posts in this topic

I'm thinking about getting a climber this year. I'm new to deer hunting and don't know much about climbers. What should I look for??

When buying a climber you're usually looking for mobility, so definately buy an aluminum one. They usually weigh around 20 lbs compared to their steel counterparts which are about 35-40. Your back will thank you. Also I see comfort as being a big issue, I like to have something I could sit in all day long if I so choose. Also some climbers won't grip well to smooth barked trees. In my opinion you can't go wrong with a Summit. I bought a Summit razor and absolutely love it.

Without a doubt I believe Summit also to be the best climber money can buy. I Also have the Razor X-5 I believe it is, Very easy to ascend and descend, quite and most important comfartable. I used it all last season in northern MN for 12 days without ever felling abit uncomfartable. Light weight aluminum is by far easier to manuver up 20 feet in a tree than steel. Huge weight difference in the 2.

Ditto on the Summit...best bang for you any bucks. I am 240 and works for me...I feel bad for the stand...but it works for me.

I did a lot of research before I bought mine. I have two Summit's a Viper and a Goliath. Great stands very solid and very safe! grin.gif

Fishermn, which of the two do you like better. Is the larger size if the goliath necessary or worth having?