Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Mooner

This weekend

8 posts in this topic

Hey folks - I'm new to the fall walleye dance on LOW. Bringing the wife up tonight for the weekend - will lauch at Wheelers Pt. PA. Would appreciate any suggestions on present patterns. The weather looks promising and I can't wait to get on the road.

Well, where do you start?? Well, right across from wheelers pt., theres a break right out from the cattails, you can't miss it, from there down to the "wind sock" seems to be the spot to start this time of year. Another would be 4-mile bay, from around the point w/ the light, out to the grass island area, this is the river channel area, and any where in here, fish will be migrating thru. And, last but not least, out in or just outside Lighthouse Gap, or over by morris point gap. I'd probably start in 24 ft. of water, and move deeper to start out in front of Lighthouse Gap, and 15-17 ft over by Morris Pt. gap. As far as jigs, colors, in the lake a gold jig, a orange/chartruese/pink bubble gum jig in 3/8, or 1/2 oz. has worked well for me, and in the river, depending on the current, 1/2oz, up 3/4oz isn't out of the question, you'll want to keep the jig as verticle as possible, and close to the bottom, as far as colors in the river, to be honest, I really don't believe it matters, as long as you keep it verticle and 2-4 inches off bottom. I've always hear gold, or orange, or some other color, but after years of this, I've only found that in the river, technique puts more fish in the livewell, then color!!! Let me know how you do, I'll be going up next Thurs.-Mon. Good Luck, The BUMBLE