Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GottaGo

Fly Rod Durability

12 posts in this topic

I'm still a newbie to fly fishing, I've probably been doing it for about a year and a half. So far, I've been having a blast with every aspect of it, from the actual fishing to tying flies, but I have been running into a problem. I started by buying a beginners combo with rod, reel, and line, but since I've got the rod, I've already broke it 3 times. The customer service is great and they keep sending me new rods, but I don't think this is normal. I've been fishing for close to 20 yrs and don't think I'm that rough on rods. Twice it broke while I was holding it in my hand and once while trying while trying to get my fly out of a tree. Are fly rods really that much easier to break than spinning gear? or do I just need to find a different rod confused.gif?

I have 5 different rods of various manufacturers blanks and have never broken a rod using it. Just broke 1 in a car door once (ouch).

What kind of rod is this? Do you store the rod in a tube?

Same as Iceshack, here. The only time I've broken a fly rod was by losing a battle with the infamous "Slamming Door Fish".

Get a rod tube. Some allow you to keep your reel attached, which is nice if you are searching/covering a lot of water.

Going with a company that has a lifetime warranty is also a good idea. I had a rod for the past 4 years and had no problems with it and 3 hours into a trip it broke in the middle of a cast. Bummer! Well I sent it in and had a new rod in my hands within a week. I own all St. Croix and Winston fly rods because they make great rods and have great customer service.