Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Fishin Beast

Help Rust!

9 posts in this topic

I store all of my guns (5) in cases in my bedroom. I keep them there because of a gf and so they are not laying out.

I ALWAYS clean the guns off with gun cleaner/rust protectant and dry them off after using them or even bringing them out to look at them.

I checked them out yesterday and all of them had light rust on them. The only sad thing is where the rust was you can see little spots in the metal.

What do I do?

Sorry I am a newbie with guns and hunting but I atleast figured they would be safe in the cases after cleaning them.

My only thought was to make a gun case to hang them somewhere in the house. Right now they are laying up against my fishing rod rack.

It is very difficult to prevent rust on guns stored in a case. They hold and even attract moister. Clean and oil them then store them in a safe open environment like a cabinet or closet,safe etc.

Beast - the padded cases are a magnet to moisture, if you store them in these type of cases always leave the zipper open about a third of the way so it can breathe. A relatively inexpensive solution is to use the silicone impegnated gun socks to store, and the cases only to travel with. Or a gun cabinet - Stack On brand makes the one that I've got, sheet metal with a simple lock. Seems like it was around $150 or so, and it holds eight guns and a few pistols. Put some dessicant bags in the thing and forget about it. I've also seen brick like deals that change color when they are 'full' of moisture letting you know to dry it out in the oven and reuse.

Don't feel too bad, everyone has either done this or knows someone who has... blush.gif

For now; Clean them with WD40 to remove the rust. Then clean and oil them.