• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Trouble with marine radio

walleyewizard

Question

I'm having problems with my marine radio. It will receive just fine, but as soon as I key the mike it blows a fuse. It worked fine this spring, but all of a sudden started acting up. I turned all other electronics off and it still pops the fuse. Even tried a new radio with the same results. Any ideas????

12 answers to this question

have you check your antenna cable? sounds like a short to ground to me. but i'm no expert.

Yes, I unhooked the antenna from the back and still blow a fuse. Very frustrating!!

It could be an internal problem in the radio. A radio draws much more current in transmit mode. I would double check all your external power and ground wires first.

As a side note, it is really hard on a transmitter to transmit with out a load such as an antenna or dummy load.

Check all of the connections to the power source (positive and ground) and make sure there is no corrosion. Are there 2 fuses in your setup? I have my positive connection for the radio coming right off the battery and there is a fuse right there at that connection. There is also an inline fuse that came with the radio. My point is just to make sure you are checking ALL of the connections. I have had this happen to me and cleaning up the connections solved the problem.

Quote:

I unhooked the antenna from the back and still blow a fuse

I hate to tell you this, but if you keyed your mic without having an antenna hooked up you very likely blew your transmiter. You should test your transmit power (need a special tester to do this), it should be at 20 watts, you might be less than 1 watt now. Not that this helps with your original problem, just saying that you might have a 2nd problem now too.

Quote: