• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

GPS Info

mylineswet

Question

I am thinking about purchasing a hand held GPS unit with the lake maps chip. I was wondering peoples thoughts on what they have and how they like them. Any info would be great as I am a novice in the GPS world.

Thanks in advance.

17 answers to this question

I have a magellan meridian color. One thing I would make sure you get is a color screen. The thing I don't like about mine is that the lake software is just loaded onto the chip, and you can't interact with the PC with lake contours and stuff, you are limited to viewing it on the GPS itself. But otherwise it is great, good detail, good color, very durrable and it Floats! I think that is a must have with a GPS on my boat.

If you plan on using it strictly for fishing, you may want to go with one designed for fish. Mine is desgined for multipurpose. I also have the softwear for turn by turn directions. Love that!

So it really depends how you plan on using it to better gage what you should purchase for a GPS. IMO

OH and check out all the stuff you can get for accessories before purchasing too. Make sure you can get enough cool stuff to keep you satisfied for a while. I think my next GPS will be a lowrance. Or maybe even a fish finder / gps combo. Then have my hand held for everything else. We will see...

I have the Ifinder H20 with the Lakemaster chip and like it a lot. Once you use it a few times on some tricky structure, you'll feel lost without it. Seems like the general consensus on this site is to get this set up.