Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
colonel42

Shiners in the river??

22 posts in this topic

Just had to do ask and get it started. I just made my reservations for mid October. Can't wait. I have been fishing the river in the fall for about 12 years now and can't wait until I get to pound the 1/2 oz jig on the bottom. I will be taking my wife with me along with my parents. After many years of coming home with story's of the river I can't wait until they finally get to experience it first hand. Fall is almost here. Bow hunting, fishing and rifle deer season. Just got to love fall in Minnesota.

you left out my favorite hunting season. Ruffed grouse hunting in N minn in the fall cannot be beat

Never tried it up there. Have plenty near home. Might just have to toss the 870 in the truck for my time up there. Never know about Minnesota in late October. One day could be 50+ degrees and the next you could have two feet of snow. Good Idea Thanks!!!!!

Hey colonel, I ve fished the river for about nine years now been going out of frontier, my main stay technique has always been fire balls, stingers sometimes rattle collors, ultralight rods an 1lb dia. 8lb test power pro. I find structure an anchor, letting the pods move to me. It has always produced nice stringers of fish, I've had my tough time for sure, but this year is different. I know the water level is down with hardly any current, I've thought about maby pulling plugs or anchoring on structure an slip bobbering since the current is ultra slow. Things might change by the time i get there but was wondering what you might be thinking with the current conditions. Thanks, later boar