• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Trolling Cranks

I'm a rookie at this and I'm looking for some help. What equipment do I need. Rod, line, speeds, cranks. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys

Dock Boy,

I troll cranks a lot. I run a 6'6" MH fenwick caster with a garcia 5600 reel. I usually run 14 lb. Trilene tough line on the spool, Occasionally I run 10 lb. fireline and that works too.

I run out anywhere from 80' to 200' depening on the depth that I want to reach, longer the line the deeper the rap will dive, however around 200' a plateau occurs where the rap will not dive any deeper. The secrets to trolling book, found and most baitshops is really helpful to understanding the behavior of cranks.

I usually run at speeds of 1.7 to as fast as 2.3 miles per hour. This is basically adjusting to their temper/mood for the day. If the pressure is in the 29 range or if it is falling they will ususally be more apt to chase, in my experience.

I prefer to run reef runners. Their lures have a great action, dive quick, and come in a variety of colors that match forage in many lakes. On rainy I prefer the emerald shiner, or the golden shiner, but patterns such as rainbow and firetiger work real well also. I go with the bigger reef runners, thee ones that say "can be trolled to 28 feet" because I am usually trolling in depths ranging around 30-34 feet. With 180 feet of line out I can hit bottom at 32 feet. Don't overlook the new rapala taildancer, deep runner. They dive a little deeper than the reefrunners and a lot of guides up here prefer them.

Hope this helps to get you started. Trolling s great way to catch walleyes during the summer months. I like the fact that all the fish caught are nice sized.

Have fun and good luck!