• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Baitcasting Reel Question

alwaysfishin

Question

I'm new to using a baitcasting reel. I just picked up a rod and a great reel at a great price. It's a Pinnacle XL reel, and has a inertia brake system. I'm using 50lb tuf line, it works great most of the time but i get nasty backlash every few casts without doing any thing different than the other good casts. The brake tension is set so the lure barely drops when I push down. I also have three of the six caps pushed out on the inertia brake. I know the concepts of stopping the spool before the lure hits the water but I'll have the mess before it hits the water. I snag my lure on some grass and walk it back until i get to untouched line and reel it in tight so there are no knots in the line but after a few casts I'll end up with the same mess. Any tips on dialing it in would be appreciated.

11 answers to this question