Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mray

Zippel Bay State Park?

8 posts in this topic

Just wondering if anyone could give me some feedback on Zippel Bay state park and its facilities (including campsites, lake access, etc.)

Also- any fishing tips from the south side of the lake would be great. I am a rookie to fishing the south side- usually go around the Oak Island area but going to try something new.

Thanks for any help!

The park is very nice. There is a first rate marina, decent

fish cleaning area, rustic camping and I think a place for

campers too.

The fish seem to be going all the time around Zipple. A very

diverse mix of rock, sand and gravel keep the fish close

by.

When do you plan to fish the area?

I've camped at ZBSP in the fall. It's a nice quiet campground. It is a primitive campground. They have a couple of hand pump wells for water and outhouses. Like Curt said, a real nice marina. It is better than what many of the resorts have. Some trails in the area for hiking/biking.

There are showers also, up towards the check in station. Nice campground, lots of wildlife. Don't fish that particular area much, but it is Lake of the Woods so it can't hardly be bad grin.gif.

later,

toddb

They also have a dump station by the shower house (w/ water) . Marina is well protected from the wind. The actual launch is a bit tricky if the wind is howling out of the N - NE. There is a dock at the launch and very nice mooring facilities. Camping is primitive (no water or electric). A great quiet place. I have a 24" camper w/ a boat trailer and can get around pretty well. Fish can usually be found in fairly close proximity. Get your bait before you go there although you could motor up to Zipple Bay Resort for gas/bait (pay attention to the markers). Have fun... give it a try.

SAL