• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I'm gonna get out this weekend and I want to try using more plastics. Now how do you guys do it? Position the boat below the wing d a ms and cast above and drag the jig over the dam or vice versa. Any other tactics would help also. I'll be down in Red Wing on Sat. and Sun. good luck everyone.

Hey Nagorski!

I'm just a beginner at the pitching; but I've had lessons from some of the best. You want to position above the wingdam within an easy cast of the top of the dam. Using as light as jig as possible cast to the top of the dam and let the current flow take your ringworm along. Keep your rodtip up and reel as little as possible. You just want the ringworm to float along naturally. If you are on bottom and getting snagged up constantly, go lighter. If you aren't hitting bottom at all or feel you aren't getting deep enough, go heavier. You want your boat positioned along the current seam, where the strong current meets the lighter current.

The wingdams haven't been too good last I heard. The sandflats and the riprap might be better places to try. Good luck!

mm

Oh! And you don't necessarily anchor for fishing the flats or riprap. Use a controlled drift and drag behind the boat or pitch. And if the water levels are still way up there you might want to try looking in the trees too.

Most of the time, you want to let the current move your jig. Cast upstream and let the current bring it back. You may have to "hop" the jig it its getting hung up. You want the lure to move a little slower than the current. Try different depths by adjusting your casting. A braided line like FireLine will help you feel the bottom as well as cut the current better.

If your drifting, keep your jig as vertical as possible so you can control your line and keep it out of the debris. Always make sure your on or near the bottom.