Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Blue Kayak

Fishing Electronics

Blue Kayak

I am new to fishing the Minnesota River and think some electronics would help. I'll be using a kayak mostly, but might want something that could be moved to another boat. I would like to find the deep holes, and I expect actually "seeing" the fish would be a plus. I have seen graphic and flasher models. Which do you prefer for the river?

Also, how useful are GPS units on the river?

Papa Grump

I have both on the my River Pro and prefer the flasher over the graphics. They pick up the snags and such in the holes alot better than the graphics do, which can help steer you away from snagging up your line.The graphics have a tendancy to pick up any amount of disturbance in the water column which would lead you to think there is fish there. However I do use the graphics if drifting / jigging the holes and will pick up on something on the bottom every now and again that is a fish. It really is a hit or miss on what you are use to using to begin with, but I would recomend a Flasher model if it is your first investment. ( Marcum LX3 or the new LX5). I can't comment on the GPS thing, I have one in my truck for ice fishing purposes and the river changes alot from year to year. What was once a 30 foot hole this year, could be a 10 foot hole next year. The outside bends and bridges stay consistent so it might help there, but perhaps others can comment better on that subject than me. Happy fishing!

Brian

Dennis Steele

For portability and ease of use, I would have to agree with Papa. You can't beat a flasher. That would be my first choice in a small craft.

I have been using my Marcum LX3 in my boat as well.