• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Kitchi Lake advice

Hello! This seems to be a great forum. I'm kinda new to fishing but enthusiastic. My family and I will be fishing up on Kitchi Lake in MN the first week of Aug. I'm just going to bring my reg rod and reel. Medium rod, 6' with 8lb test. My brother in law says I need something bigger for the big ones, but my dad says I'll probably catch more fish with mine. Any advice? Thanks in advance

max

I'm sure our Kitchi experts will chime in with more/better advice, but if I was there in that heat in August, I would plan on being on the water both very early and in the evening as the Sun settles. I guess it all depends on what you are really trying for 'cause if you are fishing for Pike I think you will have to look in the deep water. I would start shallow with Mepps spinners first though. I have no solid advice for you on Walleye except to drag crawlers on the 5-10' breaklines. Weedbeds will be grown way up so that might be a little tough. For Perch, I would try the shallows near the reeds with live bait or go into the river. For a nice ride, go up river into Little Rice. That is a small enough lake that you can fish most of it in a day. I would throw some white spinners (beetle spins or spinnerbaits) at the shoreline and you might run into a nice LMB or Pike.

Lots of water to fish so give anything else you like a try and you just might get lucky.

Above are just some of my ideas for you to try. I'm sure you know that the only sure thing is that there is no such thing as a sure thing!

Good luck,