• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Walleyes?

OK guys, I am new to Minnesota. Moved up here from Missouri. Not many walleye in MO. I have never caught one. I want to. 1)What is the best "small lake" in the west metro to go to catch one. I have a 14' boat w/ front and back trolling motors and 25 horse outboard, so I am set to back troll etc. I don't care about size, I just want to catch one. 2) What is the best method, lindy rig, crank bait, trolling.

Any info would be appreciated.

I see your from Victoria.. this isnt the answer your looking for on a lake, but Waconia has a good population of walleyes, and your boat should be more than capable of getting around.

The presentations usable are limitless.. but a simple rig that will always seem to produce is a Lindy type rig. Tip the hook with bait of choice(leech, crawler, minnow) and work break lines, weed edges, sunken islands... just about any type of structure that is holding, or may hold baitfish near, or in deeper water.

Currently, I have been having success at lakes I fish in water as shallow as 7'.. a good rule of thumb is to work water in the 15'-25' depths and work shallower or deeper from there.. you should pick fish up on your electronics and can fine tune your target depths from there.

Another way to hunt down walleyes is to troll crank baits.. #5-#9 shad raps are a good example, the larger the bait, the deeper the water you will be effective in. A #5 is good in 10' or less, #7 in depths from 8'-15', #8 from 10'-17', and #9 can be good to depths of 20'.. depth of lure will depend on line diameter, speed trolled, and distance back from the boat. It is ideal to try to present the bait just above the bottom(strike zone). Speeds from .8 mph to 3 mph on the average can be very productive.. occasionaly, a hair faster.