• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

monticello to elk river-what can I expect?

CALVINIST

Hey,

I plan on floating down the Mississippi from Monticello to Elk River next monday morning with a friend. I have never done this before, so I am asking the experts...what can I expect? I plan on using my 16' boat with motor pulled up. About how long will this take? Besides smallies what species can I expect to catch? Walleyes? Pike? Panfish? What presentations work best?

Thanks

------------------
<><<><
Calvinist
><>><>

Calvinist....thats a good float, we done it in a canoe.

We would hit the typical spots, back washes, behind boulders, top and bottom ends of pools, run and gun so to speak.

Current is fast and the rocks are round! Not alot for an anchor to hang onto.

You can tie off to a branch, or beach it if you find an area around one of the islands that you want to fish.

Maybe you can slip fish also, one guy manning the oars, aiming upstream, one guy working from the stern, all the while letting the current take you down river at a slower rate....gives you a little more fishing time at a spot. Maybe you have a trolling motor you could do this with?

We used strickly artificals, Raps, jigs, plastic, different spinner combos, we got alot of smallies and some really nice ones, a couple of smaller pike and a couple of smaller waldos...mostly bass. We snagged a couple of Carp that got our blood pumping for a minute or two also.

The river is pretty low, I was up in the Elk River area today and I took afew casts, south of town.

I don't know how experienced you are on the river, but if you are not, that can be a real different smoke, once you get into that current! Be mindfull of it, it can be real unforgiving! Read the water.