• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I need to scratch a smallmouth itch!!

dan2957

I just drove by the river on my way home from work and my heart leaped for joy. Guess what I found? Thats right, It's NOT froze over heheheheheheheheheheheheh.... I moved here to Minnesota last spring so Im kinda new to the river, I've fished it a few times. Im not asking for your secret honey hole or your favorite Smallie lure, what I would like to know is where is a good place to catch Smallies in the Monticello area. My boat is put away for the season so I'll be on the bank. Should I try below the Nuke plant or the at the park in Monticello? Do I need to go out and buy some waders or can I reach the fish from shore? Should I use small jigs or are tubes baits a good choice?
Any help would be great. I NEED to catch a BASS before I go CrAzY!!!!

------------------
If it aint a BASS, it might as well be a rough fish.

Wow, if it's not froze over, I might see you up there this weekend smile.gif LOL.

I've fished the shores up there a couple of times and if you have waders it would definitely help you reach deeper waters. From my experience this fall and early winter, slow moving baits work best. It's fast moving (and mostly shallow) water so you can look at it both ways: more weight keeps you in contact with the bottom, or less weight and it floats by the rocks with less snags. Whichever is your preference. In my opinion, I don't want to lose every jig I throw! For smallies, my best baits are plastics.

I want to say this though... be really gentle with smallies this time of year (short fights and barbless hooks are a good start, no live bait). Luckily the water is warmer up there and that is to their benefit, but spawn is only a few months away and we don't want to spoil the future of smallies on the 'sippi.