Guests - If You want access to member only forums on FM. You will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up on Fishing Minnesota.

It's easy - LOOK UPPER right menu.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Aquaman01

Species roll call.....

10 posts in this topic

Say,
In my short experience on the Upper Missy I have yet to encounter any of the following which can be found south of the cities...
Sturgeon
Paddlefish
Sheepshead
Flathead Cats
Mooneye

Any more to add? Is it because of all the Dams? Theories? Anything?

Thanks -
Rob

Not sure about those species...but here's one we have that I've never seen south of Coon Rapids...eelpout!!

Only thing is...I'm not stating it with the intent of having "bragging rights" to this fish!! wink.gif Nav

------------------
Jon Navratil
Navigator Guide Service
www.naviguides.com
Serving Central MN rivers & lakes

I've been fishing the Clearwater to Elk River stretch for about 15 years & haven't seen those species either. I'm sure the dams have played a roll in this. There must have been a few of these fish roaming that stretch before the dams were built. It would be interesting to research that some more. I've caught plenty of sheepshead & mooneye below the Coon Rapids Dam, but I don't think the other species exist in any real numbers above the Ford Dam & Pool 2. I'm sure a few slip thru the locks, but I've never seen one. I think FisherDave once mentioned catching flatheads right above the Ford Dam. Here's what I have caught: smallies, pike, muskie, walleye, channel cat, bullhead, rockbass, crappie, carp, various redhorse, white sucker, bluegill & lots of turtles. I might be missing a few but you just don't see many other species up there. I don't think I've ever caught a largemouth in that stretch. So Navigator you caught an eelpout? That's very interesting. What else have you guys caught that's not on my list? Vern