• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

CWD

DUCKBOAT21

CWD has been found in a gamefarm elk in Aitkin Co. According to news reports at noon on Fri.

Oh Sh*t....

It's front page on the Star Trib web site.

Obviously my knowledge of this disease is fairly new, but I have a degree in Biology and two thoughts come to mind.

#1) The disease may have been around for a while and people didn't notice until someone pointed it out and people started looking for it.

#2) There is no way to stop the spread of something like this. We may be able to slow it by culling, but the spread of the disease will continue and eventually it be through out the state, midwest etc.

My question is why won't the USDA allow private firms to test deer? I hunt in SE MN and want the ability to have my deer tested, and yet they fail to realize how important this is to hunters.

Just my 2 cents..

Evenflow

------------------
It's all just theory till you hit the water.

This topic might be better suited to be under the "Hunting" forum.

While I understand the dangers of having this disease spread throughout the state, I think the possibilities of that are minimal, at least at present time. This is so far an isolated incident. Hunters should not go off the deep end and assume that all deer now have it or will have it, and stop hunting. This would only increase the deer population, and likely spread the disease at a rapid pace. Another thing to take into consideration is the fact that there is no scientific evidence that CWD can be spread from animals to humans. Out of the animals that have tested positive for CWD, it has never been found in meat, only in the brain, spine, and lymph nodes.

Well, this hunter isn't going to stop just yet.

Good Luck,
Rusty

[This message has been edited by Rusty (edited 08-31-2002).]