• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Fishing Pressure?

I have been fishing Kab for about 12 years on a regular basis, an average of 6 trips per year. I have noticed a significant increase in the fishing pressure the lake has incurred over the past five years, mainly Spring & Fall. I remember fishing the opener without much boat traffic and Memorial weekend was not to crazy until Saturday, Fall some days I swear we had the lake to ourselves. Opener the past two years has been as busy as I have seen the lake, Memorial is wild and there are more boats every year in the Fall.

Kab is a great fishery and in my mind regulated (slot) very well, we have still have many great day's of fishing and it is good to see the local economy is doing well.

Can the lake continue to produce with the harvest level? I'm not suggesting any additional regulations for the lake, I'm simply wondering if others have noticed what I have and is there a concern?

lakertaker

Good observations,
Actually opener is not even at the level it was years ago. In the early 90's and pre park, you would have to get on a waiting list to get a cabin. At that time there were even more resorts and many more rooms.

Not only did fishing drop off some, but we had ice on the lake one opener, then 2-3 years of extremely low water on opener and then a year of extremely high water, and low and behold people quit booking opener and were reluctant to schedule memorial weekend.

The slot limit has been excellent for preserving spawning walleyes which is going to pay dididends starting this year. This year will be the first to represent a legal size fish that is a result of a record spawn, from 4 years back that is now going to be a 13" plus eye. In addition we have record numbers of Sauger, big perch and probably sm mouth.