• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Next fall's deer hunting rifle.

srfishin15

So with tax returns on their way I have decided that I want to purchase my first deer hunting rifle. I have little experience deer hunting, I've hunted two years with my 870 express as a slug gun and took my first deer last year with a bow. Ive decided its time to get a little more serious about the firearm aspect of deer hunting and am going to purchase a rifle. I have been given a lot of advice by friends and family about what to get and also looked at a handful of firearms myself. I have loosely decided on a .270 Tikka T3 Lite in a stainless barrel, coupled with a Burris Fullfield E1 in a 3x9x40. I hunt in areas where I will not be shooting over 250 yards, and I will only hunt whitetail deer. I have tried to do research when comparing calibers and it seems the debate is between .270, .308, and 30-06. Can anyone lend any insight on that decision specifically? I am welcome to all suggestions on the entire set up as well, if anyone has a better idea for a scope or gun I am welcome to it all. Like I said I do not have much experience hunting deer, only a few years under my belt. Thanks in advance for any help. As a side note, my girlfriend is getting the same gun/scope combination in a .243 and she hunts the same areas I do. If anyone has an opinion as to if this is a good set up for her I am welcome to that insight as well.

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Builders