• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Which Power Auger?

Question

I've decided I need a power auger this year. It'll probably be a Strikemaster, because they are readily available in my area and I've heard good things about their customer service. I usually fish for panfish, walleye sometimes. I'm on foot, so weight is a concern. I'm looking at a 2hp, with an 8" auger. But, which model? Is there any advantage of one blade type over another?

Mike

I've got a 2hp/8" Lazer Mag.It's a lot nicer lugging around than my 9" 3hp Jiffy I used to run. Hav'nt had a bit of trouble with it. I'd buy one again in a heartbeat if need be.

They have a nice, basic 2hp eskimo for sale at the sportsman warehouse for $215.

Looks like a nice auger for the money.

I have a Strikemaster Lazer 6" and have had it for what 5 years now and it has been a great unit. Got it as a dispay model for $150. Never had to change the spark plug in it either. I run 93 oct. in her and every season I run out the remaider of the gas in the tank and that's it. Always starts on the 2nd pull.

I have a Jiffy, may dad has a Jiffy (20 years). The Lightning 2 HP is the way to go with a 8" blade. They are the best. Lazer's don't cut with a dull blade, and it doesn't take much to dull one.

I have a 3 hp Strikemaster Lazer XL-3000, cuts a 10-inch hole.

If I had it to do all over again, I'd get a 2 hp 8-inch, because it's WAY lighter, and panfish and walleye fisherman will never catch either of those species too big to get through an 8-inch hole. And I know a guy with a whopper lake trout (30 pounder, I think), who got that through an 8-inch hole. Also, if you're targeting really big fish, you can cut two overlapping holes.

Brand? Sorry Strikemaster, I'd get a Jiffy. My Strikemaster cuts great, and I'm happy with it.

But . . .