• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Portable stand recomendations

Mr. Twister

I am new to archery hunting and am planning to buy a new portable stand. I am planning on hunting a mixture of public and private lands so I will have to carry it in and out on each trip. I am assuming that the weight is definately going to be a factor. What does everybody think about climbing stands vs a normal hanging stand? If not using a climber what kind of steps do you recomend? Thanks any and all advice is apprciated.

Eric

Bunch of threads on this. I am new to bowhunting, so can't give advice. But after reading much and getting inptu from folks here and reviews, and prices, I got a Viper climber. Going to try it out this weekend to test climb it smile Not the "best" but most seem to like it, based on comfort and value and ease of use. I shall see wink

Good luck!

I prefer a non-climbing stand when I can hang it and leave it. That way when I come back in the woods, I make a lot less noise.

If you are going to haul it in and out all the time then a climber would be better. I've only owned one climber and it was too noisy for me but I think the newer ones are better. I really like Lone Wolf stand but they are pricey and I've never used one of their climbers.

I've got a Summit and like if for comfort/safety but the weight and noise is kind of an issue for me others don't mind it. I've been looking at the LW as they collapse better and don't hang up on the brush when walking through the woods like my Summit and there allot lighter. Check out the Ol'Man climber in there aluminum frame I think it's about 18# and can pack nice and tight to your back. Good luck in your search but make a list of your top neccesary needs in the climber; weight, noise, ease of use, comfort, and cost.

mr