• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

So I am looking for advice on successful approaches on opening weekend at Osakis. I am new to fishing Osakis and I am not asking for you spots, more what you use and types of water.

I have fished many times early in the year at Otter Tail. Early on it is almost exclusively a shiner bite typically on dropoffs near shallow water.

Are shiner the tickets at Osakis as well? Or are there other baits that work early in the year?

Also any common depths to try etc. would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Wish i knew too. Only managed 1 walleye last year after dark. Pretty cold last year and got rained out on Sat. I have heard Red tails but i have never used them there and i dont think the local bait shops carry them. One thing i do know is osakis is very clear early in the year until it warms up and the alge hits and the lake turns green. Will be trying my luck up there again though since we have a cabin there and will have limited time that weekend.

Shallow fellas think shallow. 5 to 7 feet of water is where I would start or look for holes in the weeds in the 13 to 16 foot ranger. Email me if you have any other questions of you want.

as the beerman said tough bite till the water gets the algae bloom, but i would slowly troll or jig 20 to 30 ft breaklines during the day, depth depending on the sun. as far as bait i prefer artificial, i truthfully think bait selection will be a lot less important than finding the fish. i usually spend my day hours entertaining the nordskis and wait to fish the eyes at night.

So I am looking for advice on successful approaches on opening weekend at Osakis. I am new to fishing Osakis and I am not asking for you spots, more what you use and types of water.

Thanks

Try fishing Mille Lacs. laugh