• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Air Rifles

I'm a bit new to this, so I would like some information on these rifles. Do you need to register an air rifle in MN? Any special regualtions regarding usage of air rifles? Is there any vermin (rats, mice, etc.) that one is allowed to hunt using an air rifle and do you need a hunting licence to do so? Can one target-practice shooting an air rifle in a residential neighborhood (I would have a special target set-up) or must you go to a shooting range? Any and all information is greatly appreciated.

-Gregg B.

no registering needed, yes you can blast rats and everything. If you are going to small game with an air rifle then yes you need to buy a license. I believe yes you can blast away in town not to mention no one is really going to hear you shooting in the first place.

Most towns, cities, whatever, including my own lump air rifles, bow and arrows, pistols, shotguns, etc in to the same group. So likely whatever the laws outlawing the use of "real" guns in your city apply the same for air guns.

If it's a slick, highpowered air rifle, ya should be able to take out many a small critters with it. If it's a cheapo air rifle, stick to pop cans.

Be careful shooting you air rifle in town. Like what was previously said, most places consider it a weapon and it is not allowed to be shot in town.

I guess the cops around my place have never cared about it or no one has ever called them on me. Now that I know that I will have to look more into it.

We got in trouble for shooting stuff from our balcony back in college. It was facing the back yard and it was during a day time party with a BB gun and we were shooting cans etc. Cops came and we got a ticket for it and let us keep partying. 20 years ago though.