• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

rainy river question

I have just missed the great fishing on the river a few times in the past and am going to try again this year the first few days of April. Am I correct in assuming that the goal is to get as far downstream as the ice will let you for the best fishing?

Also what makes one spot better than another on the river? Are you looking for riffles, stream entrances or holes? Do you stick close to shore or out in the middle?

Thanks for any help, I am a novice.

I have never fished the river with a depth finder, and as long as other people were catching fish on the river, it seemed like we were. Once the Forks break loose, the river gets muddy and the fish stop biting. If you are thinking of fishing near the middle of the river, be sure to have your RABC in case you drift into the Queens Territory to the North.

Many guys like to follow the ice pack. There's usually a crowd there though. My advice...I wouldn't assume that you need to go there. The walleyes are where you find them. The first couple of weeks of April, there is good fishing to be had along most of the open water stretch. Some of our best fishing last year was right near the Birchdale access, and the water was open way down near Frontier.

I am not a fan of fishing the deep holes. And, I tend to go through the hoops so that I can fish the entire river...Canada and Minnesota. My most consistent fishing usually comes on the long straightaways, in 8-15 feet of water. I like areas where the bottom consists of gravel and small rubble. The same spots produce every year.