• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Theft/Vandalism in the Twin Cities

blacksportsman

Reading Buzbunni's topic "Smash n'..." (Mississippi pools 2-3 forum) made me wonder, how often do we outdoor enthusiasts experience theft and vandalism in the big city? I personally have been victimized at least a few times, the most recent and upsetting incident happening in May of 2000 while fishing the Mississippi River/Minnehaha creek confluence. While my buddy and I were fishing, my trunk was broken into and my .40 Glock pistol (I was an armed security officer) was taken by one of his acquaintances who had come along for the ride, but left on foot. The only reason the gun was in the trunk was because I had gone to the range just before picking the guys up. As we were putting the gear in the trunk the pistol was noticed, but I would never have thought that these guys would steal from me, it was like, "Any friend of yours is a friend of mine". A big lesson was learned that day. This particular incident is probably different than most due to the fact that the suspect knew me and knew what he was after, but I was parked in Minnehaha Falls Park, an area known for frequent vehicle break-ins even to this day. If any of you fish in the Twin Cities regularly, I'm sure you have your own stories to tell. Remember, keep your doors locked, windows up, and valuables out of sight. If it's expensive and you don't need it for the trip, don't bring it. And don't wait until you get there to start hiding things, someone may be watching you...

Manny

------------------
"You're gonna need a bigger boat"

-Chief Brody (Jaws)

[This message has been edited by blacksportsman (edited 04-29-2004).]

Manny,