• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

March

Turk

From my past experiences I have found March to be the best month to ice crappies on the Croix. Trucks are still driving on here in early March, but when you need the planks to get on the ice, the bite is normally even better plus quite again like first ice. Keep catchin’

Turk how fast does the ice tend to go on the river? I am new to the river ice this year, how fast does it go? I was out in Bayport last weekend and there was about 28+inches. I imagine the shoreline gets bad first but just looking for general guild lines. I want to head out again this weekend trying to decide on sleds or truck. Thanks again for all the help on the St, Croix I fished her about 30 day last year and only had a few rough ones. I have lived in Saint Paul almost all my life and never really fished the river much at all and then a friend introduced me fall of 06 and I have been hooked ever since. Thanks again for the help Turk and good luck on the ice.

Turk --

Can a guy still drive out of bayport and up north a little distance in 2wd with the packed down roads?

Hey Jeff - I looked in my journal and ice was out north of Stillwater on 22 March 2007 and on 23 March 2006 and on 2 April 2005. There is a lot of ice on the river right now and the 15 day forecast isn't that warm yet. Hard to tell how this year is going to play out. What really makes the ice leave the river is a good spring rain - that rain will also make the St Croix rise. I would think the last week of March to first week of April you should be able to get your boat in.

Ok, I want to drive my 4x4 truck out of Bayport in the next day or so.

I've always used the Private Ramp launching my Boat, but never fished the River through the Ice.

Exactly where do I drive out of? Is it Free or Pay?