• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Ammo prices/Reloading Questions

waterwolff

With ammo prices escalating the way they are I find the need to start hand loading where dose one begin. Which re loader in your opinions is the most user friendly. What are some key features to look for. Where do most of you hand loaders do your reloading ie: basement, garage. Where do you store your powder. and lastly is it more of a hobby or is there a real significant savings.

Thanks Mike

I am no expert, in fact I only started reloading this fall for the same reasons you mentioned. I will try and break this down in sections to help you out.

First things first, buy a reloading book or two. I bought the Lee reloading book first and I recently bought the hornady book. Read up on how to reload and the steps that the manual goes through. And as I found out on the internet, read some more.

I bought a lee classic turret press since I was going to reload for handguns and rifles. I like my press, it allows me to use it as a single stage or as a turret (almost a progressive) I bought the kit from cabelas which comes with basically everything you would need except case, bullets and powder. Now I use the press and dies and almost all the equipment that came with that kit except the scale. I measure each and every single rifle load I make so I bought an electronic scale (rcbs chargemaster scale) yes it takes longer to measure out each and every load but I am looking for consitancy and accuacy in my loads.

DIES: I use the Lee dies and they work really well, just make sure you have your cases lubed well. I use Hornady One Shot case lube, and I apply it two times and spray it in the sizing die as well. Make sure you read the directions on how to install the dies and clean them as well. FOLLOW THESE DIRECTIONS......