• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

so i kept my first lakers today. i was wondering; what is the best way to clean them? im new to eating and preparing trout. any help would be great.

thanks,

mike

I do mine just like I do a walleye. Cut around the head behind the gill plate. Take the tip of your knife and go down the back bone just to it. Then after the ribs go through the hole thing and then cut over the ribs with the tip.

I clean them just like northlander. Once the filets are cut, I like to cube 'em and put 'em in a batter of 1 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon of baking soda and enough beer to make it about the consistancy of pancake batter to make thin pancakes. Heat up the ol' FryDaddy to 350 an deep fry 'em until they're golden brown and floating. 3-4 minutes. My kids used to call this "the good fish"!

A new way I just had is to gut and gill the fish then basically make steaks out of it. Without doing any filleting make about 1 inch cuts from right behind the gills all the way down to the tail. Season it how you like it and broil it on a cookie sheet with tin foil for about 15 minutes on each side.

Good Eatin

Originally Posted By: finnbay
I clean them just like northlander. Once the filets are cut, I like to cube 'em and put 'em in a batter of 1 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon of baking soda and enough beer to make it about the consistancy of pancake batter to make thin pancakes. Heat up the ol' FryDaddy to 350 an deep fry 'em until they're golden brown and floating. 3-4 minutes. My kids used to call this "the good fish"!

Yeah, because they were sneakin' the left over beer while you were frying the fish ;\)grin.gif