• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Crappie overharvest

kingspade651

Anyone else notice the crazy number of 6-8" crappies coming through your holes this winter. I think the better early ice this year has caused a tremendous harvest of crappies, depleting the larger ones and leaving smaller ones. This year will be tough for nice crappies, but next years class is looking great. Keep less crappies!

Originally Posted By: [PleaseGetAuthorization
] Keep less crappies!

Actually, I am in favor of keeping the small ones... will be better off next year with less smaller ones and more bigger ones, IMO. But I am no expert.

Sorry lemme rephrase that, keep less bigger crappies, it will help sustain a healthier population of quality craps and weed out the stunted ones.

I agree Keep only a few Big Crappies and let the rest go. Keep smaller ones. How about we all just keep enough fish for a meal or two a week. Fishing pressure has rose in the metro area, making it tough to catch nice fish especially the south metro. Practice Catch and Release!!!!!!!

The sport will keep growing too, with more women and children being brought out. Therefore selective harvest will continue to be more and more important over the years. And like somebody said in a different post, just cuz the limit is ten, doesnt mean you need to keep that many. If you're planning on having a meal for yourself, keep 3-5 and let the rest go. If you're bringing people with you, say 3-5 people, do you really need to keep 30-50 crappies?