• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Tip Up Fishing Problem

Hey everyone. We have a little private type lake up at our cabin that we have been Tip-up fishing for northerns the last few weekends. This is my first time really tip-up fishing for northerns. The lake is loaded with them and we have been getting alot of flags to go. The problem is that it seems we are not using the right hooks. The majority of the fish get off due to the hook bending out the mouth. We have been losing alot more then catching. Does anyone have any suggestions on the best lures or hooks to use to fix this problem.

Thanks, Bus

We were just using lead head jigs. But obviously they were very week hooks. Or maybe we are just using too small of ones.

I've had good luck with these types of jigs on tip ups, seems to hook them in the corner of the mouth too, meaning less breakoffs. You can find them at most bait stores:

jb.gif

If you are going to keep using a plain hook setup,maybe you should consider using Kahle hooks.Have you considered using quick strike rigs instead of a plain hook? These rigs are available from all kinds of retailers,or you can tie your own.There is a good thread over at the Muskie-Northern Pike forum on how to tie quick strikes from about mid January, or so.

Here's a link to the quick strike thread:

http://www.fishingminnesota.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/1219235#Post1219235